Arkansas Chapter of the Society for Neuroscience
Arkansas High School State Science Fair

2014: Arkansas High School State Science Fair (April 4-5, 2014, UCA)

The 2014 Arkansas Science and Engineering Fair, sponsored by Southwest Energy, was held April 4-5, 2014, on the campus of the University of Central Arkansas, in Conway, AR. The awards banquet was held Saturday evening, April 5th, 2014. At the awards ceremony, $15,000 in prizes was given away to students and another $15,000 will be spent sending the ISEF finalists to compete at the International Science Fair. This would not be possible without the generous sponsorship of Southwestern Energy and the Arkansas State Legislature.

2013: Arkansas High School State Science Fair (March 29, 2013, UCA)

2011: Arkansas High School State Science Fair (April 1-2, 2011, UCA)

ACSfN Neuroscience Awards
Judges: Barbara Clancy (UCA); Jeff Padberg (UCA); Susan Lantz (NCTR), Tucker Patterson (NCTR)

Mathew Medlock (ASMSA)
- Encouraged by Dr. Jon Rheule from ASMSA to work on a project at Stanford University with Drs. Sarah Brownell and Larry Steinman

Nicole Villacres (Fayetteville High School)
"Effects of different beverages on the reflexes of sleep deprived humans"

Eric Zheng (Pualski Academy) -
worked at UAMS with Dr. Kevin Phelan -
"Lack of upregulation of glial glutamate transporter 1 in TRDC1/3 double knockout mice after Status epilepticus"

2010: April 2, UCA

ACSfN Neuroscience Awards
Judges: Barbara Clancy, UCA; Jeff Padberg UCA; Stacy Baldwin

1st Prize:
Samia Naniaz
(LR Central)
“Toxicity of manganese nanoparticles in PC12 cells” advisors Tucker Patterson and Merle Paule, NCTR

2nd Prize:
Lillian Tong and Elton Zhou
(Pine Bluff High)
“The effects of monosodium glutamate and nicotine on the chick embryonic retina” advisor Jimmy Zhou, UAMS

3rd Prize:
Teryr Robinson and Mira Humphries
(Alma High School)
“Creating and manipulating false memories “

Updated 5/2/2015